PMP® Alert. PDU Categories will change 1 March 2011

Home The Savvy PM Blog PMP® Alert. PDU Categories will change 1 March 2011

102 Sound the alarm – PMI will implement new categories of PDUs starting March 1, 2011.

What’s changing?

  • The number of categories will be reduced from 18 to 6.  (That’s good news – there should be less confusion.)
  • Certain categories will have limits on the number of PDUs you can earn.
    • Activities that “Give Back to the Profession” are capped at 45 PDUs for PMP®® and PgMP® credential holders. Example: volunteer service.
  • Other Categories have no limits, such as courses offered by a Registered Education Provider.  You can earn all 60 PDUs from a R.E.P.

What’s not changing?

  • The number of PDUs required to renew your certification does not change.  For PMP® and PgMP holders, 60 PDUs; for PMI-SP® and PMI-RMP®, 30 PDUs.
  • The renewal cycle remains the same at 3 years.
  • The method for reporting your PDUs remains the same.

Important links:

  • New PDU Categories – the chart of categories, descriptions, limitations and the fine print.  You should print a copy of this!
  • Frequently Asked Questions about this change
  • CCRS – this is where you go to report your PDUs.  Bookmark it.

 Remember: you’ve got 1 week to enter your PDUs under the current system.  The changes go into effect March 1.